St George’s Historical Society Museum is one of the oldest and unique buildings in Bermuda.
This was built as a family home in 1731 by merchant shipper Captain Walter Mitchell and was owned by his descendants for the next 100 years. At one point a spinster niece ran a girls school in her home where she taught manners, reading and needlework. In 1831 it was bought by John William Archer and his wife Isabella for 400 pounds. She was a free woman of colour and he had been born a slave but freed by his master in 1830.
The St.George’s Historical Society was formed in 1920 specifically to save the house for posterity. It houses some stunning cedar furniture as well as antique mahogany pieces. Artifacts on display range from exquisite porcelain to mundane kitchen equipment.
Bus routes to St George: 1, 3, 10, 11.
April – November Hours:
Mon – Sat. 10am – 4pm
January – March Hours:
Wed & Sat, 10am – 4pm